Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony

When: Thu., May 22, 7:30 p.m. and Sat., May 24, 8 p.m. 2014

Thomas Wilkins, guest conductor Douglas Prosser, trumpet The Elaine P. Wilson Chair Program BECKEL Toccata for Orchestra ARUTIUNIAN Trumpet Concerto SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 10 Called “the composer’s finest work … moving inexorably from bleak desolation to a triumphant finale” (Chicago Classical Review), Shostakovich’s compelling Tenth Symphony was written at the beginning of the post-Stalin era. RPO Principal Trumpet Douglas Prosser is featured in Arutiunian’s virtuosic concerto, with its Armenian flavor.

Price: $15-$65


Add a review


Select a star to rate.