Music » Music Reviews

ALBUM REVIEW: "There Was Never"


Dave Wilson

"There Was Never"

Zoho Music Media

While it is highly original in terms of the time signature (12/8), it's not surprising to hear a rendition of George Gershwin's "Summertime" on saxophonist Dave Wilson's excellent new album. But I was not expecting to hear an equally imaginative rendition of "Cassidy," a less likely standard by the Grateful Dead. And perhaps the finest tune on the album, featuring a particularly beautiful soprano solo by Wilson, is a decidedly different version of the Beach Boys' "God Only Knows." Clearly, when it comes to repertoire, Wilson is an explorer.

Along with him on the journey are Bobby Avey on piano; Tony Marino, bass; and Alex Ritz on drums. If that combination sounds familiar, the trio is used to playing together as sidemen in the Dave Liebman Group and they bring that same simpatico to the table here. Although the three familiar covers mentioned above nicely draw listeners into the CD, at the heart of the album are six challenging tunes by Wilson that leave no doubt about his prowess as a composer and saxophonist.